## SCHOOL DISTRICT OF PITTSVILLE BOARD POLICY

## SCHOOL DISTRICT LEGAL STATUS

The legal and official name of the district shall be School District of Pittsville ("District").

The District is organized and operated as a public school district under the Wisconsin Constitution, under Chapters 115 to 121 of the state statutes, and under other applicable laws and regulations as a Common School District that operates both elementary and high school grades.

In addition to the public school grades operated by the District, the District operates such other programs and conducts such other activities as may be required by applicable law, and the District may further operate other programs and activities to the extent permitted by the applicable law.

The territory of the District is located within Wood, Clark, Jackson, and Juneau Counties. The territory of the District encompasses all or portions of the territory of the following municipalities: Town of Cary, Town of Dexter, Town of Hansen, Town of Hiles, Town of Port Edwards, Town of Remington, Town of Richfield, Town of Rock, Town of Seneca, Town of Wood, City of Pittsville, Town of City Point, Town of Sherwood, and Town of Finley.

## **Legal References:**

## Wisconsin State Statutes

Section 115.01	[school and school district classifications; names of school districts]
Section 117.27	[school and school district classifications; names of school districts]
Section 117.27	[change of district type; ballot question and timing]
Section 118.50	[whole grade sharing agreements]
Chapter 120	[school district government; includes certain statutes applicable only to certain types of school districts]
Section 120.12	[school board duties; including responsibility for the general management and supervision of the school district]
Section 120.13	[school board powers, including the power to do all things reasonable for the cause of education]

First Reading of Updates:	December 11, 2023
Second Reading/Approval of Updates:	January 8, 2024